Established in 2003, NEWflames Inc. Foundation nurtures artistic drive through studio residencies and professional development opportunities for Australian Indigenous artists. Its board members include art philanthropist Annie Gamble Myer, art dealer Philip Bacon AM, accountants to the arts Tom Lowenstein and fundraiser Linn Clarkson Smith.

During the past 10 years, NEWflames Inc. Foundation has thrived with the generous support of numerous mentoring artists, donors, supporters and arts workers. Amongst its many mentors have been artists David Paulson, Joanne Currie (Wynne Prize winner 2008), Laurie Nilsen (Telstra prize winner 2007), Matthew Johnson, and Michael Nelson Jagamara, who have worked in residency with Ian Waldron (2010 winner of Glover Art Prize, selected Wynne and Archibald Prizes), Jenny Fraser (Art Gallery of WA Indigenous Arts Award 2008), Tony Albert (Sunshine Coast Art Prize winner 2007), and Christine Christophersen (Cultural Warriors NGA 2008-09, Australia Council residency to NY 2009).


I whole-heartedly endorse NEWflames Inc. and believe its model program can make an important contribution to Australian indigenous Art in the Cairns and Far North Queensland Aboriginal communities.

Avril Quaill, Director Cairns Indigenous Art Fair